top of page
  • Writer's pictureCallum Mitchell

Finished rails

Updated: Aug 7, 2018




the rails which have been sanded and ready to join. these were cut on the band saw. the band-saw had the dust extractor on meaning I didn't have to wear dust mask. the guard was low as possible and I made sure my fingers were kept out the way of the black circle. to make square i sanded on the sanding belt until they reached the pencil mark i had drawn on using a square. I sanded them with 120 grit sand paper so the finishing stain will adhere better. I wore safety glasses when using the sander and the band saw to protect from stray chips. i made sure all the rails were the same length so that later on their will be no issues with the joins being at 90 degrees. i also checked all ends were square so there were no gaps. After the rails had been ripped on the table saw I planed them so all the rough saw marks had gone. i also sanded the ends so that would sit flat, i pushed the rail up against the guard so the ends didn't end up rounding.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page